Don’t Smash the Statue!

Few days ago I was at Jinnah super market, window shopping with my friends. We were at Ecs shop suddenly my friend whispered in my ear excitedly; look Shireen Mazzari is sitting just behind you. I looked back and thoroughly saw her. She was looking very causal and trying some chappal which was perhaps not comfortable in her feet and she went for the previously checked one. She was accompanied by a cute young lady who was helping her in shopping. During all this time I was looking at her again and again and trying to figure out something different or unusual in her from others as she is a public figure, a politician and a journalist too. She must have some alienate characteristics because both politicians and journalists are usually different from common people like me. After thoroughly scanning her in eyes I found no difference in her which really disappoints me. My friend suggested me that lets go to her and get an autograph and if she allows having a picture with her. She is too a big fan of her alike me. I have been following her articles and papers since long ago; I second her views on Pakistani foreign policy, towards America and India specifically. I enjoyed a lot her remarks over NATO soldiers’ pampering scandal. Recently I entered in my practical life and I have an aspiration that In Sha Allah one day I will be just like her, a strong, determined, and confident in speaking truth, passionate in rejuvenation of the society and the one who make a high positioned place in a male dominant society. In short I have a high regard for her, but I refused my friend to go and talk to her. Although I had many questions which I wanted to ask her. I don’t know exactly why I did that but at that time very quickly two names clicked my mind. Both of them are very famous journalists and I also admired their work and bravery that how intensely they are trying for the betterment of the society. They speak truth and they are not affraid of consequences. I had very high hopes from them and during my studies I planned that ill work with them if get chance. Two or three years before, when I was in college and the dirty issue of blaspheming cartoons which hurts each and every Muslim all around the world arises. I was one of them who could not do anything but to pray for worst chastisement to be sanctioned on the dirty news paper and their editors and cartoonists. One day while I was listening to the one of my favorite anchor got an idea that why not I call and ask him to speak on this issue and to let the world know that we are hurt badly and some strong action must be taken against them. As I told you earlier I had very high hopes with two of them so I called with full believe that he would take into consideration my idea. What actually happened was totally different; he even didn’t let me to complete my sentence which I memorized spending al most half an hour on this. He interrupted me whilst saying that religion and preaching is not his area of interests he only works on political issue and the phone line was dead. I was stunned and took a deep breath. Until today I can not understand that how this matter is non-political and only religious leaders and molvies have the duty to speak on it. The most hurting thing was not his refusal of taking this topic in his program and claiming that he only speaks on political issues. But his program which went on air after few days in which he was discussing some cricket scandal with Shoaib Akhtar who was the only guest that night. I left watching his shows.

However, I didn’t left believing in other one I thought in fact I presumed him to be different from the erstwhile. So I called him to let him know about some corruption scandal in governmental sector. About which I came to know accidently. I did not have any details so I wanted him to investigate and to prevent corruption by letting the authorities know about it. Nothing new had happen. Same rude style when saying that I do not speak to strangers and also it does not happens in government sector. As if he don’t know that what can or cannot happen in government sectors.

I presume that you understand that why I refused my friend to meet Shireen Mizzari. Because I admire her efforts, I believe that she is as same as she looks like in talk shows. I have placed her statue very high in my heart and I really don’t want to smash it.

Leave a Reply

